Dhanyvaad, India

IMG_0559_2I should change the name of this blog to, “takes-too-long-to-gather-her-thoughts Hannah”. I arrived home from India almost three weeks ago and haven’t done much that’s considered “productive” (unless you’re like me and consider quality time with loved ones productivity). I’ve been meaning to write this post for some time to give myself some closure to my India trip. It’s necessary to recognize the great lessons that the people of this country have taught me during my two months in their homes.IMG_0684

During my India trip, I became deeply aware of something beautiful. I realized that God has given me gifts and that lately, I have been using the gifts that he has given me to the fullest that I know how to right now (maybe that will change in the future). I realized how difficult it would be more me to travel if I was, for example, allergic to peanuts. Although there are obviously difficulties (like me respraining/ twisting my ankle almost monthly), I am so thankful for the realization that right now, God has given me the privilege to travel. He’s opened up doors, provided me with means to go, introduced me to amazing people who have supported me financially/ spiritually/ emotionally, given me relatively good health, given me courage to go and I am beyond grateful. Somehow, the universe has answered me. I told it what I wanted and it assisted me along the way.

IMG_0474 Jim Carrey said “What we really want seems impossibly out of reach so we never dare to ask the universe for it. I’m the proof that you can ask the universe for it”Paolo Coelho says ““And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”” Somehow, things have worked out so far and I owe it all to some amazing people the universe brought my way. Thank you. *End overly emotional/ spiritual rant.*

Anyway, there were also aspects of India that were difficult to adapt to. Often times, my U.S. American mentality “just needed some dang privacy” and sometimes I really just wanted some toilet paper. However through these challenges, I feel that I developed a greater ability to adapt to my environment and contribute in some way to my community. I will take these lessons with me on the rest of my journey. I am also thankful to India for:

  • Funny stories (like the time the “rusty metal guy” “pierced” my nose in the dark)
  • Spirituality
  • Mera bhai ❤ and my best friend too
  • Simplicity
  • Peace
  • Meditation
  • Patience with the language barrier
  • FRIENDS
  • Family
  • Hospitality
  • Fresh food

Thanks for reading my so very typical end of Hannah’s chapter thank you letter. India is a complex, beautiful, country full of interesting, helpful, hospitable people who taught me lots about the life that I want to lead. Gotta give them some love!

Thanks for somehow tolerating my emotional self. As always, much love!


Debo cambiar el nombre de este blog a “Hannah pasa tanto tiempo pensando y no escribiendo”. Llegue casi 3 semanas antes y no he hecho mucho de productividad (pero he hecho cosas mas importante como pasando mucho tiempo con mis amigos y familia). Quería escribir eso para agradecer India por muchas lecciones y cosas bonitas.

Aunque hay problemas siempre durante mis viajes, mas o menos me di cuenta que Dios me dio muchos regalos para que pueda hacer lo que hago. Estoy bien agradecida por lo que hace El para mi. El Universo ha hecho muchas cosas para mi durante mis transiciones y todo y me hace feliz. Paolo Coelho dice “cuando quieres algo, todo el universo conspira para que lo obtengas.” Eso si esta pasando conmigo y tengo que dar todo el gracia a la gente que el universo me dio durante todo.

Estoy bien agradecida por lo que aprendí en India. India me ensenó mucho de la vida y ya se que siempre lo voy a tener en mi corazón. Gracias India, Eres hermosa. Mucho amor ❤

5 comments

Leave a Reply

